How the importance of formulating an interview question arises

I have asked pro Skateboarder Stefani Nurding what ” the board sport industry means to her, if it has changed her life and why”. I realized after watching the footage that I formulated the question in a complete wrong way. What I originally meant to ask Stef was what skateboarding meant to her from a personal point of view. She then quotes to me ” It just means fun, friends, exercise and injuries haha” well that’s the response I was looking for. Honest and personal. I realized that if I were to go along with the  ‘light touch’ method of interviewing I needed to be very careful in the way I formulated the unique question I am genuinely interested in finding out the response. Keeping it short and concise is more effective to avoid confusion in the person being interviewed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

